No Excuse for Domestic Abuse

As Today is International Women’s Day, I thought I would share some news about a new role I have.

Back in November 2012 I saw on Twitter that West Mercia Women’s Aid, a charity which had been working for 30 Years to support Women & Children experiencing Domestic Abuse in Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin, were looking for Trustees to join their Board. Through my job I already knew of the valuable work they do, as we often have contact with women who are experiencing domestic abuse. I am devastated by the abuse women suffer, and the emotional impact this has on children who suffer as a consequence, and I want to do as much as I can to keep our children safe, so that their childhood is a happy one, not a scared one.
I thought that with my knowledge of the children and family agenda I might be able to offer something as a trustee. At the start of the new year in my Nurture2013  post I said that I wanted my free time to be put to something worthwhile, and it felt like volunteering to support this charity would be something very worthwhile, and something I would  be very proud to do. So I applied. I attended an interview and was accepted as a Trustee. I’m delighted.
So as the weeks and months pass I will blog about the charity, my role, and the issues surrounding domestic abuse, for which there is not excuse. So to begin with here’s the definition of domestic abuse and some facts and stats to highlight how prevalent domestic abuse is.
The Government defines domestic violence as
“Any incident of threatening behaviour, violence or abuse (psychological, physical, sexual, financial or emotional) between adults who are or have been intimate partners or family members, regardless of gender or sexuality.”
  • On average 2 women a week are killed by a male partner or former partner: this constitutes around one-third of all female homicide victims.
  •  Domestic violence accounts for between 16% and one quarter of all recorded violent crime.
  • One incident is reported to the police every minute
  • 45% women and 26% men had experienced at least one incident of inter-personal violence in their lifetimes.
  • 54% of UK rapes are committed by a woman’s current or former partner
  • 30% of domestic violence starts in pregnancy
  •  At least 750,000 children a year witness domestic violence
  • In 75% to 90% of incidents of domestic violence, children are in the same or the next room.
  • Children who live with domestic violence are at increased risk of behavioural problems and emotional trauma, and mental health difficulties in adult life.
  • 70% of children living in UK refuges have been abused by their father
These figures are all taken for the national Women’s Aid website.
Thank you for reading this blog.
Kate Bentham
8th March 2013
Leave a Reply

