My summer in 8 ice creams

It might be fair to say that autumn is here. When I’ve got in from work this week I’ve had to put on a jumper and a pair of socks. We haven’t reached the ‘officially turning on of the central heating’ date at Bentham Towers, but that date in October will be here before I know it.

So I am packing away the flip flops, dragging out the boots, covering up the barbecue and dusting off the slow cooker, and whilst I am looking forward to weeks of apple and blackberry pie, I will still reminisce about my lovely summer in 8 ice creams.

Honey and toffee coco crunch

Honey and toffee coco crunch

We have this caravan in Wales, and go when the sun is shining. We also go when the sun isn’t shining, and we still eat ice cream. There is an ice cream factory nearby with a shop front which sells all manner of different flavored ice creams. This was a honey and toffee coco crunch and has to be an 8/10

Flake ice cream after a hike round Hawkstone Park

Flake ice cream after a hike round Hawkstone Park

We’d been for a trek round Hawkstone Park – a great day out, the kids would love it. There is loads to explore, caves to be spooked out in and a yummy ice cream waiting for you at the end. A classic 5/10.

The ice cream van came to work. I wasn't working.

The ice cream van came to work. I wasn’t working.

Now this was cruel. I don’t work Friday’s which is why the team often refer to them as Fun Friday’s. One hot day Mr Whippy came to visit the office  and that naughty Daniel Franey  tweeted me this ice cream selfie. Harsh, and so a -10/10.

Black current and honeycomb sprinkles

Black currant and honeycomb sprinkles

I am thinking that they should include a category called ‘spend the day at the beach in close to 30 degree temperatures, then in one hand carry buckets of shells, stones and drift wood collected by a 5yo and so can’t be left behind as they are all special, and in the other hand kites, sun tents and picnic stuff, then walk for 15 minutes to your car’ in the next Iron Man competition. I’d win, I’ve had practice, and my prize, apart from fame and fortune would be this blackcurrant ice cream with honeycomb sprinkles. 10/10

Bara brith

Bara brith

We went to Aberdovey for the day, you should too, especially as they have an ice cream parlour selling up to 20 hand made ice creams. I went for a bara birth a traditional welsh cake, and therefore achieved the ultimate cake/ice cream mash up. 11/10

The ice cream van came to work!

The ice cream van came to work!

Pay back! 10/10

Blackcurrant and chocolate sprinkles

Cherry and chocolate sprinkles

On this day we were really celebrating, you see it was a Tuesday and we were on holiday, so what’s not to celebrate? 9/10

Banana ice cream with honeycomb sprinkles

Banana ice cream with honeycomb sprinkles

Yeah, yeah it might have been raining, but we were still on holiday, and the law says that ‘when a person is on holiday, they must eat ice cream’ and so we didn’t want to get into trouble. 9/10

My mantra for the summer

My mantra for the summer

Thanks for looking, come back in 6 months time and to read ‘My Winter in too many Mince Pies’

Kate

13th September 2013

One thought on “My summer in 8 ice creams

Leave a Reply

